DaShera Boone (pictured) and Derricka Henry were named to the 2013 Preseason All-CIAA women's basketball team

Oct. 3, 2013

CHARLOTTE, NC- The 2013-2014 CIAA Basketball season kicked off Thursday morning as the preseason All-CIAA team and predicted order of finish was released at the annual basketball press conference at the Sheraton Charlotte Hotel.

The predicted order of finish and preseason team was voted on by the CIAA women's basketball coaches association. Elizabeth City State (North) and Shaw University (South), the two-time defending CIAA Champion, were picked to finish atop their respective divisions.

Last season the Lady Vikings posted the best record in school history at 24-4 (CIAA 15-1) and head coach Alico Dunk was named CIAA Coach of the Year. Shaw University defeated the Lady Vikings in the semifinals of last year's conference.

Derricka Henry and DaShera Boone, both guards for ECSU, have both been voted to the 2013 Preseason Team. Henry, who hails from Dayton, OH, served as the Lady Vikings' backup point guard last year and was second on the team in assists with 68. Boone, who netted double figures in 16 games last year, will be ECSU's top returning scorer (8.6ppg).

The Lady Vikings will open up the 2013-2014 season on November 9th at the Lady Viking/Chick-fil-A Classic in Elizabeth City. For more information on ECSU Athletics, visit and follow us on Twitter @ECSUVikings.

The complete CIAA preseason team and predicted order finish is listed below:

2013-2014 Preseason Women's Basketball Team Summer Curtis (Chowan), DaShera Boone (Elizabeth City State), Derricka Henry (Elizabeth City State), Akysia Resper (Fayetteville State), Karnina Bunch (Johnson C. Smith), Cynthia Johnson (The Lincoln University), Porscha Walton (Saint Augustine's) Lamesha Deal (Virginia State), Ashle Freeman (Virginia Union), Melyse Brown (Virginia Union), Dionna Scott (Winston-Salem), Somalia McKenny (Winston-Salem)

Northern Division

Elizabeth City State
Virginia Union
Virginia State
Bowie State
The Lincoln University

Southern Division

Winston-Salem State
Fayetteville State
Johnson C. Smith
Saint Augustine's