ECSU’s Tabbs and Cherry Named to the 2016 NCAA Division II All-Super Region One Team

Jan. 13, 2017

CLARION, PA. — The Don Hansen Football Gazette All-Region Committee has released the 2016 NCAA Division II All-Super Region One squad today (Jan. 13).

ECSU’s tight end Victor Tabbs and defensive back Malcolm Cherry were named to the third-team All-Super Region offensive and defensive teams.

Tabbs ranked first amongst all Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association tight ends and sixth overall in receptions with 39 for 639 yards; while averaging 3.9 per contest during his senior campaign. He also finished the season with three touchdowns and averaged 16.4 yards per catch.

Cherry led the CIAA in pass break-ups with 17 throughout the 2016 season. He ranked tied for sixth in the league in tackles with 49 total, third in the league in interceptions with four, and tied for first in the conference in field goal blocks with two.

2016 Harlon Hill Trophy finalist Garry Brown (WR/RS – Sr. California) was named the Super Region One “Offensive Play-ers of the Year”, while defensive end Marcus Martin (DE- Jr. Slippery Rock) was selected as the Region “Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season.” Brown was chosen as the as the “Special Teams Player of the Year”, Edinboro receiver/return specialist Ta’Nauz Gregory (Fr. – Edinboro) “Freshman of the Year” and California head coach Gary Dunn and Edinboro head coach Justin Lustig shared the Super Region One Coach of the Year honors.

Follow Elizabeth City State Athletics via its official website at: to get pre and post-game stories and updates.