Saint Augustine's Men and Women Repeat as CIAA Cross Country Champions

ECSU concluded the 2013 cross country season on Thursday at the CIAA Championships

October 24, 2013

Cary, NC- St. Augustine's University claimed the men's 8K and women's 5K crowns at the CIAA Cross Country Championships at WakeMed Soccer Park on Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013. The men title is a repeat of 2012 and the second back-to-back title since the Falcons won the championship in 2005 and 2006.

Jermaine Brown and Melissa Reid were the top finishers on the men's and women's sides, respectively for ECSU.

The Falcons scored 47 points in men's race followed by Virginia Union with 58 points and Virginia State with 80 points. The Lady Falcons also successfully defended their 2012 title scoring 29 points. Virginia State was second with 69 points followed by Winston-Salem State with 76 points.

SAU's Torion Bailey was the men's 8K individual winner. He crossed the finish line in 25:58.14. Taylor-Ashley Bean of Virginia State defended her title from last year in the women's 5K run in 18.58.37.

The Falcons placed five runners among the top 16 finishers in the men's race. With Bailey leading the field, Joshua Robinson-McCoy was eighth. Jameel Walcott was ninth. Elhadji Mbow was 13th and Kevaughn Hewitt was 16th for SAU.

The Lady Falcons had five of the top 14 runners in the women's race thanks to 2-3-4 finishes by Skylar Wallen, Fanta Fofana and Kelly Shaw. SAU's Zikeena Parker finished sixth and Daisia Robinson finished 14th Zikeena Parker.

The trio of Bailey, Robinson-McCoy and Walcott from St. Aug made the All-CIAA men's squad. The team also consists of Franck Charles, Emmanuel Nelfrard and Deandre Horton of Virginia Union, Christopher Henry of Virginia State, Kyle Edwards and Wilson Bailey of The Lincoln University and Darius Berry of Shaw.

The Lady Falcon quartet of Wallen, Fofana, Shaw and Parker joined Bean of VSU to earned All-CIAA women's honors. The team also includes Jessica Davis and Shannon Lewis of Virginia State, Danaria Brice of Virginia Union, Shana Brown of The Lincoln University and Denisha Wiggins of Winston-Salem State.