ECSU Athletics to Host its Annual Student Athlete Awards Banquet

April 13, 2017

ELIZABETH CITY, N.C. -- The Elizabeth City State University Division of Athletics will hold its 2017 Student Athlete Banquet May 1, 2017 in the K. E. White Graduate Center on the historical campus of Elizabeth City State University.

The banquet begins at 6:30 p.m. with ECSU Alum Jonathan Sutton as master of ceremony. Mr. Tyrone Brooks, Sr. Director, Front Office and Field Staff Diversity Pipeline Program Major League Baseball, as guest speaker for the evening.

Awards presented on the evening includes: the Pepsi Most Valuable Player (by sport), the Thurlis and Brenda Little Offensive Lineman Award, the Thomas L. Caldwell Award, the R. L. Vaughan MVP Basketball Award, the Scholar Awards (team, male and female), the 2016-17 Viking of the Year Award (male and female), the Coach of the Year Award, and the Administrator of the Year Award will be given.

Also, ECSU Athletics will honor the student athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, as well as honor Dr. Boykins and the band with an award of recognition.

Follow Elizabeth City State Athletics via its official website at: to get pre and post-game stories and updates. Also, follow us on twitter at: @ecsuvikings and like us on Instagram: ECSUFB